A three-month experiment

This post marks the beginning of a three-month experiment of using WordPress for blogging. I’ve used Blogger for the better half of seven years, and while I’ve only occasionally used WordPress, I’d like to give it a little more of a run-through.

The first thing I tried to do was set up a Google Analytics account with it. Unfortunately it seems that’s not really possible with a free WordPress account, so I’ll have to go with whatever statistics it provides gratis.

The templates are stylish and appeal to me. I’ll go through a style change in three months, I’m sure.

I really like this editor. It feels snappy. But the first thing I tested was what happened if I bolded an area and moved it to another region of the document?

That added an extraneous two lines:

<strong><div>
</div></strong>

Eep.

And moving it back to its original spot added a <span class="Apple-style-span" style="font-size: 14px; line-height: 23px;"> element. Eep!

But it’s not bad – no worse than Blogger’s formatting issues. Optimal formatting is a hard problem.

There’s a Word count link  below. That’s also rather nice.

Word Count in the editor

That’s all for now.

6 responses to “A three-month experiment

  1. Just FYI the rich editor on OSX is applying those Apple styles rather than wordpress. If you try it from a different OS (Windows, Linux) you might get a different result.

  2. As a rule of thumb, I never write text in a web browser if it’s longer than a few lines, no matter how nice the editor is. For blogging, I always use an external editor and copy/paste it when I’m done.

    Have fun with WordPress, I’ve been using it for years and it’s a joy.

  3. One thing I like about web post editing is the ability to work from multiple machines. Do a little work on the laptop, second edit on the desktop, make a judicious edit just prior to publishing at work.

  4. You don’t need to do web editing to take advantage of cloud saving: just paste your editor content into the blog and save as a draft when you’re about to walk out.

  5. Pingback: This is a test, please ignore | Blatherberg

Leave a Reply

