Special Lunch

My neighbor on the flight from Hong Kong to Singapore had all sorts of suggestions for my trip, from restaurants, to music, to a hotel with classy prostitutes. So when we finished our morning at the superb Singapore Art Museum I spotted one of his recommendations.

Not that one, pervie.

The Wah Lok Cantonese Restaurant in the Carlton Hotel (not to be confused with the Ritz Carlton) is known for its Dim Sum. My friend and I agreed to go. We arrived at 2:15, and they were taking last orders at 2:30, closing at 3PM. My friend didn’t know much about ordering Dim Sum, and fortunately for expediency’s sake the dim sum menu was rather limited, so I could make fast decisions.


Table setting. There are three types of pickles on the table. One is a mix of mushrooms, pork and an unknown root vegetable. One was red chilies, and the third was an uninteresting red paste.

Baked Barbequeue Pork Buns

Their pork buns came two to an order. I knew we would want two apiece. The waitress claimed they were famous for their pork buns and I could see way. They had a flaky crust on top that was oh, so good.

Steamed Pork Ribs

While these were overall delicious, there were occasional pieces of bone which I had to navigate through by chewing off the meat and then placing the bone on my chopsticks. At least I think that’s the polite way to spit at the Carlton.

Baked Abalone and Chicken Pie
I expected better. They weren’t bad but they didn’t have much flavor.


Steamed Prawn Dumplings

I think if you make Dim Sum and can’t get this right, you’re doing something wrong. They handled this one very well.


Steamed Pork Dumplings

They tasted more like prawn dumplings, so much so that I had to ask if they really had pork. They assured me there was but I hardly noticed.

Pan Friend Nian Gao
Glutenous, chewy, and tasty.

Dessert: Baked Custard Pastry and Deep-fried Mashed Potato and Lotus Seed Pastry.

Either you like Chinese desserts or you don’t. I do. Both were quite good.

The second dish was special for the New Year.


Bonus: New Years oranges (or are these tangerines?)

A traditional New Year’s gift that came in the decorative bag you see.

Leave a Reply

